Fragments

Unfiltered confessions for a hymn to life in all its forms

Fragments preview image
Available on

Four seasons, four salvos containing 20 individual stories of a tipping point or an epiphany. In the privacy of a roving recording studio, German, Canadian and French people share their unvarnished, unfiltered stories. These unique, authentic self-portraits are all the more revealing for what they tell us of our society and the world around us.

FRAGMENTS is a web series of 80 episodes lasting five minutes each, a succession of real-life stories ­told in the first person. In sharing a significant event in their lives, be it one that turned everything upside down or a seemingly insignificant occurrence that helped to make them who they are, they tell us their story. Taking their lead from Paul Auster’s I Thought My Father Was God, a collection of real-life stories initially compiled for a radio programme, and – more recently – from photographer Brandon Stanton’s Humans of New York project, these personal, family stories form a prism that speaks of individuals, on the borderline between the intimate and the social, blending the highly personal with universal themes.

Filmed vertically, with neither introduction nor narration, this web series designed for social networks invites each protagonist to tell their story freely to the camera. Taken together, these brief, compelling confessions make up a dramatic structure as rich as it is fragmented, reflecting the human mosaic that gradually appears before our eyes. While the guests speak freely in what appears to be an intimate bubble, at the end of each episode the place where the interview was conducted is revealed: a small black box nestling in the heart of a living environment; its fragment of history becomes part of something greater than itself.

This transatlantic series will present a total of 40 episodes filmed in Quebec and 40 others filmed in Europe (France and Germany). After a first season focusing on the theme of the family, filming continues and the teams set off in search of new stories in France, Germany and Canada.

Credits

  • Coproduction - URBANIA, 2P2L, ARTE France
  • Directors - Aurélie Sfez, Xavier Havitov, Danic Champoux

Sorry

Site unsupport
Update browser

Fragments

Des confessions sans filtres pour un hymne à la vie dans tous ses états

Fragments preview image
Disponible sur

Quatre saisons, quatre salves de vingt témoignages sur un moment de bascule, d’épiphanie. Dans l’intimité d’une boîte d’enregistrement itinérante, des Allemands, des Canadiens et des Français se confient sans fard et sans filtres. Ces autoportraits, dans toute leur singularité et leur authenticité, racontent un peu de notre société et du monde qui nous entoure.

FRAGMENTS est une websérie de 80 épisodes de 5 minutes, une succession d’histoires vécues ra­contées à la première personne. En partageant une expérience marquante de leur vie, un événement qui a tout chamboulé ou un moment qui peut sembler anodin mais qui a participé à la définition de leur existence, ils nous livrent leur histoire. Dans la lignée de l’ouvrage de Paul Auster Je pensais que mon père était Dieu où l’écrivain a compilé des témoignages collectés initialement pour une émission de radio, et plus récemment de la démarche du photographe Brandon Stanton avec Humans of New-York, ces récits personnels et de famille sont un prisme pour parler des individus, à la frontière de l’intime et du social, mêlant configurations très singulières et motifs universels.

Filmée à la verticale, sans introduction ni narration, cette websérie imaginée pour les réseaux sociaux invite le protagoniste à se raconter librement face à la caméra. Un partage de confessions fortes et brèves qui, une fois rassemblées, composent une trame dramatique aussi riche qu’éclatée, à l’image de la mosaïque humaine qui se constitue peu à peu sous nos yeux. Alors que les invités se livrent dans ce qui paraît être une bulle intime, la fin de chaque épisode nous dévoile le lieu où l’interview a été réalisée : un petite boîte noire noir nichée au cœur d’un espace vivant ; son fragment d’histoire s’inscrit dans quelque chose de plus grand que lui.

Cette série transatlantique présentera en tout 40 épisodes tournés en sol québécois et 40 autres filmés en Europe (France et Allemagne). Après une première saison autour du thème de la famille, le tournage se poursuit et les équipes partent à la recherche de nouvelles histoires en France, en Allemagne et au Canada.

Crédits

  • Coproduction - 2P2L, URBANIA, ARTE France
  • Réalisation - Aurélie Sfez, Xavier Havitov, Danic Champoux

Sorry

Site unsupport
Update browser