Beethoven: Symphony No. 4
Gustavo Gimeno & Sylvia Carmarda: Luxembourg

Beethoven Day 2021


Beethoven: Symphony No. 1

Daniel Harding - Bonn

Beethoven: Symphony No. 2

Jaime Martin - Dublin

Beethoven: Symphony No. 3 Eroica

Nicholas Collon - Helsinki

Beethoven: Symphony No. 4

Gustavo Gimeno & Sylvia Carmarda: Luxembourg

Beethoven: Symphony No. 5

Steven Mercurio - Prague

Beethoven: Symphony No. 6 - The Pastoral

Diego Fasolis - Lugano

Beethoven: Symphony No. 8

Marko Letonja - Strasbourg

Beethoven: Symphony No. 9

Karina Canellakis - Vienna

Beethoven: Symphony No. 4Gustavo Gimeno & Sylvia Carmarda: Luxembourg

Live from the Philharmonie Luxembourg, the Luxembourg Philharmonic Orchestra, conducted by Spanish maestro Gustavo Gimeno, tackles Beethoven’s Symphony No. 4 in B flat major. Composed in 1806, this luminous work contrasts with the heroism and romantic complexity of its two fiery neighbours, the third and the fifth - which led Robert Schumann to describe it as "a small Greek lady caught between two Nordic gods". The concert, which also includes the Egmont Overture, is accompanied by a choreography from Luxembourg's Sylvia Camarda, danced by young refugee artists.

Duration :

49 min

Available :

From 06/06/2021 to 01/01/2022

Genre :

Performance Art

You may also like

Yo-Yo Ma and Alan Gilbert at the Hamburg Elbe Philharmonic

Opening concert of the 2021/22 season

Rossini’s "Petite Messe solennelle"

From the Wexford Festival Opera 2020

Klaus Mäkelä Conducts Symphony n.º 9 by Mahler

Barbara Hannigan Conducts Stravinsky and Weill

Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France

Oksana Lyniv conducts Mahler, Beethoven and Cage

Ludwigsburg Festival

Martha Argerich Plays Prokofiev

Cristian Măcelaru conducts Debussy, Rachmaninov and Saint-Saëns

Orchestre National de France

Radio France Orchestra Christmas Concert

The Nutcracker and Swan Lake

The most viewed videos on ARTE

Paris in the Belle Epoque

Afghanistan: Lost Soldiers of the Red Army

ARTE Reportage

Geopolitics of the Nile

Mapping the World

Germany: Angela Merkeland?

Mapping the World

Afghanistan - A Troubled Country

Mapping the World

A World of Volcanoes

Mapping the World

Secrets of the Ghent Altarpiece

20 Years of War against Terrorism

Mapping the World